Infection Gone, but still lump

Status
Not open for further replies.

cws229

Hi everyone,

I am new to this experience. I am 27 year old male.

Several weeks ago, I noticed blood when I'd go to the bathroom. It continued and got worse, and I started waking up with blood in my underwear. I did not have any pain to begin with, just blood and puss discharge.

By the time I got a doctor's appointment, there was some pain. I went and he quickly identified it, rightly, as a pilonidal cyst. He said it was draining profusely through one large sinus. He said to apply hot compresses and take a prescribed antibiotic and Vicodin for pain, which I did. He said since it had already ruptured, and had a solid center, an incision and drainage wouldn't be beneficial.

Over the next three days, I applied hot compresses every several hours and started everyday with an Epson Salt bath. The pain increased a lot in the first day, but gunk regularly came out during the night and with the application of the compress, including several gooey looking hairs. Yuck!

Today I went back. I no longer have 'pain' but there is still definitely discomfort, pulsating when I sit down, etc. I can feel a lump where the pain once was before and it's very hard. He said that virtually all signs of infection had cleared, there was no redness, there was very little swelling, and no more pus or discharge. He said the hard center had reduced and what remained was probably scar tissue from the ordeal. He has referred me to a surgeon for the next step. He extended my antibiotics by 4 days to cover the time in between now and my surgical consult.

So my questions
1) Is it possible I WOULD benefit from an incision and drainage? Is it possible there is still hair or something in there?
2) As I move forward with a surgeon, what option should I pursue? Based on my research, it seems to me like 'pit picking' is the best approach for now as this is my first incident and my flare up was fairly contained.