Laser Ablasion Progress

JK2024

Country flag
Hi everyone! I very recently received a laser ablasion surgery and wanted to provide some information to this community. I know that it can be difficult to find information about pilonidal sinus disease and various surgeries for it, so I want to be part of demystifying it! I'll try to update this post throughout my healing process. Because the surgery was so recent, I cannot speak to its efficacy yet. But keep your fingers crossed for me!

Background: 28 year old male. I have been managing PSD since fall of 2015. I've had it infected and lanced I would estimate between 7 and 10 times. Like many of you, the current information surrounding traditional open excision surgery completely deterred me. Last fall (2023), I had a consultation at Rush University with Dr. Govekar regarding the laser ablasion surgery. He described my case as pretty mild, with two sinuses and an abscess drainage tract. We set up a surgery date, I ended up having to reschedule for the end of January (2024). The surgery consists of opening up the sinuses using a trephine (tiny hole saw), removing debris, and destroying the diseased tissue with a laser diode. He said he has been doing the surgery sans laser for years and had great success with it. When he came to Rush, they asked if he'd be willing to give the laser a shot. He said he would gladly do that, he'd just never had access to it previously.

Surgery Day 1/30: Prep was pretty typical. Arrival at 6am, 8:15am surgery time. That two hours included registration, blood draw for tests, IV insertion. Eventually they moved me upstairs to the pre op room where I met my nurses, anesthesia team, and surgeon (Dr. Govekar). Could have been more, I was nervous! Once everyone had signed off, they started the sedative in my IV and I was wheeled to the operating room. I flipped onto the table and was out like a light. You are asleep for this procedure.