New to pilonidal and navigating health care in Prague, Czech Republic

pilonidalprague

Hello, to summarise my pilonidal story so far:

I am 23 years old, and female but I have PCOS which causes excess body hair so my butt looks like a dude's. I'm from the UK but I've been living and working in Prague, CZ since September 2013, and I'm still learning how the Czech healthcare system works. I have Czech health insurance but I speak very little Czech, so finding and accessing doctors is not always easy.

I first had painful swelling near the top of my natal cleft, on the right cheek back in June. When my cheeks are closed, you can't really see any problem. I assumed it was cystic acne, which I get in all sorts of places thanks to PCOS. The swelling didn't go away though, and eventually it started draining small amounts of pus. I put up with it and never showed it to a doctor because it was small, and also up until the beginning of November I was dealing with a (thankfully benign) gynaecological lesion which had to be removed so that took precedent in my mind. Once that issue was dealt with, I saw a surgeon at a walk-in clinic one morning in November. The surgeon drained the abscess and put a dressing over it, there was no packing because the draining did not leave a hole. I went back to have it cleaned a couple of days later, and then it began to heal. It was fine for a few weeks after that, then just before I was due to visit home for Christmas, the abscess flared up again. I returned to the clinic and had it drained for a second time, and the surgeon told me in his limited English that it was a recurrent problem and I would need "big operation in hospital" to remove the internal infection. I will say that he did not use the term pilonidal sinus, but it's clear from what he did say that this was the diagnosis. Afterwards, I found out more about the condition using this website and other sources online.