Question..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie89

Hello everyone. I have been reading alot of cleft lifts and was wondering if anyone could explain in full detail what exactly it is. I have tried looking online but there isn't really anywhere that explains it in complete detail. I am not considering it at all for my upcoming surgery...Since I already know what I will be having done.
I may have considered it a litte while ago but me and my surgeon aren't exactly sure what is wrong. I had my 2nd surgery in August and I am still trying to heal from it but something is stopping it from doing anything...so he gave me the option to open it back up and remove watever is in there..and if nothing is in there.. then he is going to give it a good clean since it will be re opend.
Anywho...I am just really curious on what a cleft lift is...I am not good with understanding much lol..Thats why I hope to get a response in full detail...I know there are vids online but I couldn't watch them....yuck :p

louiseh57

Hiya, I had a cleft lift on the 7th oct and it's been amazing for me, I had 4 operations prior to it which did not work, I just wouldn't heal :(

It's pretty hard to explain, it's like you know an excision would be on the midline? That makes it hard to heal, so with the cleft lift they kind of make it so that the scar is to the side of the midline and stitch underneath so that there is no cavity, just dissolvable stiches. And because the wound is not in the midline, it has air get to it and that helps it to heal :)

You also have a drain for a few days which makes sure that the fluid comes out of the wound rather than building up underneath.

I'm sorry i'm not very clear, it's really hard to put into words, Jaredsmom is good at explaining it, her son Jared had it done :)

Here is a picture of mine taken last week:

http://pilonidal.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10889